The One Ring
http://test.one-ring.co.uk/

WOTR - Winged Kamul taken out by Legolas
http://test.one-ring.co.uk/viewtopic.php?f=49&t=21117
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Killerkatanas [ Thu Jul 07, 2011 5:11 am ]
Post subject:  WOTR - Winged Kamul taken out by Legolas

Hello all,

Wondering if this was a correct interpretation of the rules.

I have a winged Kamul, which is shot at by Legolas using his special ability which reduces resiliance to 1. I was under the impression that with Kamul you could deflect any damage his formation recieves on a 5 or 6. Since he is a single formation, then any hits at him should follow this rules, correct?

Then why does Legolas's hit not follow this?

End result, the Nazgul was then shot at with regular bows and killed on turn 1....250 points wasted so easily. With Legolas around, are any Winged Nazgul safe?

Brian

Author:  ForgottenLore [ Thu Jul 07, 2011 6:40 am ]
Post subject:  Re: WOTR - Winged Kamul taken out by Legolas

Yes, Legalos is inflicting hits on him so Khamul has a chance to bounce them, but even so, Legalos is a monster killer. Even extremely hard to kill monsters should be worried when he is around. Hard to Kill is actually pretty easy to kill and I would expect Legalos to kill a monster a turn, even Nazgul.

Honestly, I have never been all that impressed with the Nazgul on Fellbeasts, and for all his utility as an epic hero, Khamul is the wrong choice to have flying. His ability really shines when he is in a large formation of troops, when he is on his own he is just a juicy target.

Author:  GothmogtheWerewolf [ Thu Jul 07, 2011 12:50 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: WOTR - Winged Kamul taken out by Legolas

People think that if they take Khamul as their Winged Nazgul that they can be more reckless with them but that is not the case, you'd be bettter of with a different one or none at all. Don't put an important monster near Legolas or Lurtz.

Author:  Beowulf03809 [ Thu Jul 07, 2011 2:58 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: WOTR - Winged Kamul taken out by Legolas

Legolas's Crippling Shot is a special action that lowers resilience, so that can't be bounced by Khamul. The actual attacks on him can be but now that you're only R1 you're pretty much toast. Even if he wasn't in a Formation of archers he could then call an Epic Shot and probably deal enough automatic wounds that with Khamul's bouncing he'd still get a couple rolls on the H2K table, and I generally find 2 rolls to be enough to slay an H2K monster in most cases.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/