The One Ring http://test.one-ring.co.uk/ |
|
Clarification on Banners and Shields http://test.one-ring.co.uk/viewtopic.php?f=49&t=25121 |
Page 1 of 1 |
Author: | The Arkenstone [ Sat Feb 02, 2013 6:04 pm ] |
Post subject: | Clarification on Banners and Shields |
In the LotR:SBG rules it clearly stated a model with a banner cannot carry any other equipment, including a shield. In The Hobbit:SBG rulebook I cannot find any such restriction. The section on banners simply says the model gets -1 on fight rolls. To further support this assertion, the newly released Rivendell Knights are pictured on GWs site with one model having a banner a shield. I have to assume that all models that are allowed a banner are also allowed to carry and use a shield, if these are available options for that type of model. Can someone please confirm this, one way or the other as if will affect how I assemble some of my older kits? Thanks! |
Author: | theavenger001 [ Sat Feb 02, 2013 7:22 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Clarification on Banners and Shields |
The Arkenstone wrote: In the LotR:SBG rules it clearly stated a model with a banner cannot carry any other equipment, including a shield. In The Hobbit:SBG rulebook I cannot find any such restriction. The section on banners simply says the model gets -1 on fight rolls. To further support this assertion, the newly released Rivendell Knights are pictured on GWs site with one model having a banner a shield. I have to assume that all models that are allowed a banner are also allowed to carry and use a shield, if these are available options for that type of model. Can someone please confirm this, one way or the other as if will affect how I assemble some of my older kits? Thanks! As far as the rules go, you can now have any (I think) equipment and a banner. You can have a shield for sure. Whether this will be FAQ'ed or not, we don't know. |
Author: | Hashut's Blessing [ Sun Feb 03, 2013 4:14 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Clarification on Banners and Shields |
There are no restrictions as you say and you never use previous editions as precdent for the current edition ![]() |
Author: | GothmogtheWerewolf [ Sun Feb 03, 2013 4:34 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Clarification on Banners and Shields |
But there was never any rule saying you cannot take a war horn and a shield, but there did used to be one for banners. Morgul Knights, Galadhrim Knights, SKoDA and Easterling Kataphrakts are more examples of shield armed banner bearers. |
Author: | Hashut's Blessing [ Mon Feb 04, 2013 1:44 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Clarification on Banners and Shields |
Gothmog - as said, never use a previous incarnation of the rules as precedent for the current set. Unless it states (which has been pointed out that it doesn't), you can use a banner and shield. |
Author: | Draugluin [ Mon Feb 04, 2013 5:33 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Clarification on Banners and Shields |
Hmm, I guess that means that Boromir an take both a shield and his banner. Interesting. |
Author: | GothmogtheWerewolf [ Mon Feb 04, 2013 10:07 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Clarification on Banners and Shields |
Hashut's Blessing wrote: Gothmog - as said, never use a previous incarnation of the rules as precedent for the current set. Unless it states (which has been pointed out that it doesn't), you can use a banner and shield. I know, I was just saying that war horns were never restricted before and they still aren't now. banners were before but they aren't any more. Correcting you, so to speak. |
Author: | janner [ Mon Feb 04, 2013 3:05 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Clarification on Banners and Shields |
Great news - I really must get around the reading the whole new rules lol |
Author: | Hashut's Blessing [ Tue Feb 05, 2013 8:02 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Clarification on Banners and Shields |
Not correcting so much as elaborating. I was using current rules as precedent for it ![]() |
Author: | The Arkenstone [ Tue Feb 05, 2013 10:01 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Clarification on Banners and Shields |
The reference to the "previous edition" is a valid one as it was very clearly stated there that shields and banner are not allowed one on model. I wanted to make sure that The Hobbit SBG rulebook didn't omit this by restriction by mistake. It wouldn't be the first (or likely last) time GW has put out a rulebook, codex, or army book with errors and omissions. From what I can tell, the prescendent for including shields and banners on the same model began with War of the Ring where all models in a unit are equipped the same way. Thus, GW started producing kits like Galadrim Knights and Morgul Knights where you could put a shield on a banner bearing model. |
Author: | Draugluin [ Sat Feb 09, 2013 7:08 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Clarification on Banners and Shields |
What is the general consensus on giving Boromir both his banner and a shield? I know it says in his rule that that's a no-no, but that is more of a reminder than anything. |
Author: | Hashut's Blessing [ Sun Feb 10, 2013 8:27 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Clarification on Banners and Shields |
If it says it in his rules, you flat out can't. By all means houserule, but remember it's a houserule so don't try it a tournament ;P |
Page 1 of 1 | All times are UTC |
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |